Vintage Dress DIY

I’ve been enjoying all the lovely DIY tips and how-to’s on the blogosphere lately, everyone is so damn creative! I definitely need to step it up. I am not the craftiest person in the world, but if I put my mind to something, I’ll make it happen. All you wonderful bloggers out there inspire me, and I decided to take a trip into my cluttered closet to see what I could make with some of my unworn clothes.  Most of them can be altered just slightly, whether it be hemmed here, taken in here, cut there. My mind began spinning with ideas…I just started cutting and crafting right there and then. But like a lot of us,  I got too excited too quickly, and ended up biting off more than I could chew.

Yep, that is what happened. So now, I have a pile full of cut up clothes waiting to be hemmed and sewn. Nice, very nice. But I guess it’s a start! Fortunately, I was able to complete one  DIY project, and I am very pleased with the end result.

Here’s my spin on a vintage 40’s floral dress from Crimson and Clover…

– I wouldn’t normally buy a dress like this, but it fit like it was made for me, and the style is SO flattering, I also haven’t seen a print quite like this one. The unique quality stood out and I just had to have it!

– Orange is NOT my color, but I was bound and determined to make it work.

– I literally tried everything to make the look a little more modern, but I just wasn’t able to pull it off without making the dress shorter.

…Here is the end result:

– I am very pleased with the new and improved fancy frock! What do you think? Should I have left the dress the original length and found a more modern way to wear it…? Or was hemming it a good idea? Maybe now I’ve inspired you to dig through your closet and start a DIY project…just don’t bring the scissors into the closet with you, or you’ll end up with a pile of cut up clothes like me.

Have a fabulous week!

xoxo

L

6 responses to “Vintage Dress DIY

Leave a Reply

