Put a Hat on it.

Here comes another outfit post…

This week my inspiration comes from my mom’s vintage hat collection. Luckily the stormy weather we’ve been having lately has subsided and turned to quite a lovely afternoon.

Take a peek:

(This was my Mom’s “going out in San Francisco” hat. I’m so glad she kept it, it’s not only sentimental, but fabulous! When I’m out traipsing about, I always think of my Mom and all of the adventures she had.)

( I used to play dress up with her hats when I was a little girl… Obviously not much has changed.)

( The skirt reminds me of the one Zooey Deschanel wears in “500 Days of Summer”….)

(Isn’t my backyard nice? It’s in the middle of the city, but surrounded by trees…It’s like my own private oasis!)

(I love the length of this skirt, It fits just right.)

( What I’m wearing: vintage hat from Mother, thrifted sheer cami from $1 sale at Bows and Arrows, vintage high-waisted skirt from The Nest, and Mia wedges gifted to me by a very close friend.)

So, what do you think of the look? I’ve been experimenting with high-waisted skirts lately…and I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised with the result. I wasn’t quite sure about them at first, but I realized they need to have just the right fit and length to balance out proportions.  It’s definitely intimidating to experiment with different looks, but the best part about fashion for me is trying something new! I realized once you take the initial plunge, there’s no coming back… You should try it sometime, you could be in for a real treat.

 What are some looks that intimidated you at first, and how did you make them your own? I would love to hear some feedback!

Until next time.

xoxo,

L


2 responses to “Put a Hat on it.

  • Vanessa

    I looove the look and you styled the hat well. I am in love with high-waisted looks, but there definitely has to be a balance so you don’t look like you are walking out of an office meeting or church, although I am FOR the Mad Men inspired looks!!!

  • Tessa Snider

    This just keeps getting funnier and funnier to me…Just watched 500 Days of Summer the last two nights (I love it that much!) and then saw this entry to find not only are you wearing a Nest skirt, but you also reference it to one of my fave movies!

Leave a Reply

